Not All Who Wander

Standard

It’s increasingly difficult to go completely off the radar since we (nearly) all carry a GPS around in our pockets or embedded in our dashboards. Yet, there are so many metaphorical ways to be lost for which there are no concrete satellite coordinates.
Ink drawing of face in rearview mirror.

My husband and I drive a lot, heading “down state,” as it’s called here. That’s where the larger cities are, and my family, as well. For the most part, we pass through unbelievably beautiful areas, but some highway driving is just tedious no matter what. Bad weather can add a level of stress. As the passenger, I read aloud books of mutual choosing to help us both pass the time, lost in characters and places, descriptions and events beyond the windows of our time machine. Our current car novel is American Gods, by Neil Gaiman. The main character in this mysterious, fascinating story starts off without a life purpose, just going with, what seems to be, the whims of fate, also lost in his own way, spending a lot of time on the road. I based my Inktober entry for LOST on car time, oblivious to one’s actual position on the globe, and the feeling of being transported.

13 responses »

  1. I also enjoyed American Gods. Have read several Gaiman’s novels and this one and The Ocean at the End of the Lane are these I really love. 🙂

    I don’t know why but this illustration makes me little melancholic and nostalgic. It reminds me something, but I can’t recall what.

    • 🙂 I also love The Graveyard Book. I was really trying to give the drawing a look of feeling lost, so, hopefully, that comes through. I appreciate your comments much!

  2. Pingback: On the rocks | Art Is Not For Sissies

    • Yes, I was thinking similarly. Not in all ways, of course, but I started to think about exactly that, and how having information is not the same as having understanding, or direction.

  3. I typically (mentally) add a second bit of text whenever I see that bumper sticker.

    But American Gods is an excellent novel; one of my favorites and an often-recommended one.

Leave a Reply

