Thanks for the Compliment!

Gallery

I write a bi-weekly guest post for the popular Katzenworld, a site all about cats. My feature is called The Friday Art Cat and I am basically responsible for posting a silly painting or drawing of a cat every other Friday.Dancing cats with Liebster Award badge.

A few weeks ago, Jen, from www.jabrushblog.wordpress.com, nominated The Friday Art Cat at Katzenworld for a Liebster Award! THANKS, JEN!

If you’re not familiar, a Liebster is an acknowledgment from one blogger to another that they like your work and that more people should see it. As a recipient, it up to you to:

  • Acknowledge the blogger that nominated you
  • Answer the questions the nominating blogger asks by posting on your own blog
  • Nominate 10 bloggers with under 200 followers, or so
  • Inform the bloggers you have nominated them
  • Post 10 questions for the new nominees to answer

Think of it as a kind of share-the-love nod for bloggers with smaller followings, and their readers! I have answered Jen’s questions to me below, and inserted occasional links where I have posted related artwork or musings. My nominated bloggers and their questions are at the end of my interview. You can also follow the link at the bottom of this page to Katzenworld, where The Friday Art Cat responds to her Liebster Award!

What is your favorite movie?
SO HARD TO ANSWER! In no particular order…Cinema Paradiso, The Wizard of Oz, Cave of Forgotten Dreams, (anything by Werner Herzog,) Singin’ in the Rain, Moulin Rouge, Citizen Kane, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Inside Out, Sense and Sensibility, The King’s Speech, Ghostbusters, Night at the Museum, Elf, The Avengers, The Princess Bride, Stardust, North by Northwest (anything by Alfred Hitchcock,) Moonrise Kingdom, (Wes Anderson, anything,) The Lord of the Rings Trilogy. For animated features, Toy Story, Spirited Away (Miyazake is the best!) Inside Out, How to Train Your Dragon, The Incredibles, The Nightmare Before Christmas… I know this is a crazy range of genres, but I love all of these movies for different reasons. I’m sure I’m leaving some out.

Who are your writing icons?
Kurt Vonnegut, Yann Martel, J.K. Rowling, Isabel Allende, Sylvia Plath, Neil Gaiman

What are your hobbies?
Watching movies, traveling, biking, hiking, photography, doing crossword puzzles

What is your favorite holiday?
My favorite holiday is definitely Halloween, but not a gory version, I’m not into scary. I can’t even draw anything scary, so bring on the ghosts, but cute ones, for example. I love the costumes, and the fun associated with it. Fall where I live is so spectacular with the leaves changing colors and crisp light and fresh apples, this all contributes to Halloween being my favorite.

Do you like to travel?
I love it! I’ve visited Italy, Greece, and France. I’ve also been to South Africa, India, and Panama. In the US, I have hiked in 36 National Parks, stayed in cities along both coasts, and many, many locations in between. I also enjoy quick day trips and weekends to a different zip code. I find travel is essential to my mental health, and my art making!

What is your ideal vacation?
The best vacations are the ones that are a mix of cultural activities like visiting museums, with blasts of nature like hiking or biking, and good food!

Are you going to watch the Olympics? If so, what sports are you going to watch?
I did watch some of the Olympics. Frankly, I was most fascinated with the opening and closing ceremonies, because, well, they’re theatrical with good costumes and lighting! I did see the gymnastics, some track events, and a little bit of swimming, but that’s it.

What is your favorite kind of food?
I love well-prepared, fresh vegetarian food of all cuisines. My favorites though are definitely Indian and Mexican. Basically, I’m down for cuisine that features beans and rice in any variation. If it includes a follow up with the ethnically equivalent version of tea, then it’s doubly amazing.

What made you want to blog?
Initially, I started this blog as a rant to some post-modern art I saw in Dallas. This was coupled with my desire to write posts that could be used in teaching my high school students at that time. I transitioned to a more personal blog format a few years ago, choosing to focus on my own art work, that is, painting, printmaking and book arts. And, of course, CATS! That passion has led to many other opportunities, like being a guest blogger for Katzenworld!

My Blog Nominations
I hope you will take a moment to check out these bloggers that I feel deserve the Liebster nod.
https://postcardmuseum.wordpress.com Because I LOVE postcards!
https://artjillkuhn.wordpress.com A blog about art and process.
https://belindaclaushuis.wordpress.com Amazing illustrations and details.
https://rebeccayoungnicholson.wordpress.com I guess I appreciate art blogs!
https://kittycaperz.wordpress.com Because CATS!
https://lynnerae.com Children’s book author and illustrator.
https://gwenniesworld.wordpress.com Beautiful pictures of flowers and nature.
https://bluetwigstudio.wordpress.com Products a reviews for paper crafting.
http://www.adeenedenton.com/blog A surprisingly entertaining blog about rocks.
https://georgiemoon2016.wordpress.com Travel, photos, and a cat who lives on a boat.

Katzenworld Banner

 

The Friday Art Cat also weighed in with her own answers to the Liebster questions. You can see those, too, at Katzenworld!


 

 

 

 

AND, FINALLY, Nominated bloggers, here are your 10 questions:

  1. What motivated you to start blogging? Why do you blog?
  2. Who or what inspires you to write or create?
  3. What is one interesting thing that happened to you this summer?
  4. Do you have any pets? How many? What are their names?
  5. What is your favorite season of the year? Why?
  6. If you could hop into a reliable time machine, where/when would you go? Why?
  7. Tell us about your office or studio.
  8. Books or movies? If you had to choose one over the other.
  9. Your best post, in your opinion, and a link to it.
  10. Advice you have for anyone who might want to start blogging.

Liebster Award Badge

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: We are awarded… | Toby's Wrecking Crew

Leave a Reply

