Maybe It Was the Tea

Standard

Tick….tick….tick….tick….I am awake. It is the middle of the night and my brain has gone into monkey mode. No position is comfortable. No amount of yoga breathing will distract my busy mind. No amount of sheep counting sends me into dreaming.

I have a cat firmly asleep on my legs. When I try to move, said cat goes into noodle mode and protests with a tail twitch. The last time I looked at the clock it was 3:42 a.m.

Watercolor close up of a worried cat

If only my cats were concerned about the quality of my sleep.

Eventually I drift off. In what feels like only minutes, I am jarred awake by my husband’s alarm, a song by Queen about bicycles. I groan. For a minute, the bed cat remains a full impact noodle. Another cat thinks it’s time for breakfast. Cat number three starts clawing on the cat tree. Full noodle cat is now walking on my chest. My husband is now snoring and oblivious.

I give up any hope of more shut eye and lurch downstairs to rectify the urgent dish bottoms issues of the cats. Maybe tonight will be better.

20 responses »

  1. I am like that more often than not! I sometimes hate (use the word loosely) when I get too creative before bed. Before I know it it’s 2 am and I have to get up at 5:30 and the mind has wandered off into oblivion. Keep trying to sleep — I know I am still trying..

  2. Hi Carol! Just stumbled across your blog via a “like” on mine from Katzenworld – oh the tangled web.
    Glad I did! Love your art and your cat adventures. Your cat’s portrait reminds me of my curiously talkative orange tabby named Claire.

  3. To quote Geoff Bartley from his song “Cats”, “everyone knows a sleeping cat can weigh several hundred tons”. We can often find ourselves weighed down or packed in by our cats. Usually Mr. Lucio wants breakfast at 4:00 AM, Mr. Marcus starts howling, Abby starts growling because Mr. Marcus is howling and Mr. Lucio is clawing the mattress, etc..etc..

  4. LOL! I understand! 🐱 My cat was batting at the blinds thinking it was his time to go outside at midnight. They do know how to push our buttons, don’t they?! Like your cat painting! 🎨💕

Leave a Reply

