Connoisseurs of Comfort

Standard

Creative, inquisitive, and masters of the spaces they inhabit, cats have no qualms about making themselves comfortable. By way of example, I illustrate the particular behaviors my cats exhibited this week.

SUNDAY
We had a few friends over for Halloween. It was late, so I thought I would wait until the morning to complete the clean up. This is what Lucy thought about my leaving the drink station up overnight.

Cat on drink cart.

Awesome spot. I can see the whole room from here.

THURSDAY 
Bean has a penchant for imposing horizontal-ness as a way to say, “I will control you.” Here, she flops at the foot of the stair (a trick she learned from Lucy,) in an attempt to get someone to play with her. And, more adorably, Miss Bean takes a break to lay atop Neil who was just trying to do some sit-ups.

Cat laying on things

Left: Cat bed with instant heater
Right: None shall pass!!

FRIDAY
I’ve been working feverishly in my studio to make books for an upcoming art show. Interested in my activity, Lucy surveys the situation, then attacks my scissors, knocking the offending implement to the floor.

Cat with art supplies

This is a mess. I’m sure I can help.

Ginger cat with scissors

These things are useless when you have claws.

MIDWEEK
Tuesday, I was looking around the house for Vera, only to find her rolling in the laundry with a stinky dish rag. She has returned to the stinky dish rag for a couple of days, each time scruffing on and attacking her prey. I think it’s a sure sign that I need to do some laundry. On Wednesday, she exhibits complete disinterest in anything going with her humans.

Cat in laundry

I adore my stinky dish rag.

Yawning Cat

Yawn….or…. Rrrraaawwwrr!?

6 responses »

  1. Every photo is a masterpiece of displaying the quirky personalities of cats. XOCK, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

Leave a Reply

