Cats Always Land on Their Feet

Standard

A friend and I were talking about the process of art making, and how much practice is needed to create art –and especially to get a piece that meets one’s artistic expectations. We were also discussing how a desire for perfection can sometimes keep you from creating at all. That’s one of the reasons I like to participate in drawing challenges like Drawlloween— and make it public– it gives me a little extra kick to commit to my work. Whether I like the results or not, the work must commence.

For today’s prompt, Circus Sunday, I dug out an old painting that I had abandoned a few years ago because I just didn’t like how it was turning out. Inspired by the conversation with my friend, and hoping the circus image would be work for Drawlloween, I tackled the old painting, adding more darks and color, not worrying about the previous expectations I’d had for the piece.

It didn’t take me very long to give the flat image a little more life. There are still things I would do differently, but it’s not sitting neglected in a drawer. And, while the image isn’t eerie, or even Halloween-y, I figure there’s nothing more scary than confronting your creative demons, so here is my Circus Sunday.

Circus cat on a trapeze.

Circus Cat

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

