Any Cross Section Through a Sphere is a Circle

Standard
Any Cross Section Through a Sphere is a Circle
Group of Paper Balls

Better in Batches. I learn a lot more by producing multiples.

I’ve been working on these beauties off and on for a week or so. Each handmade paper circle, some twenty-four to thirty per orb, was hand cut and sorted by color and pattern. The orb was then carefully sewn using book binding techniques. The end decorations were made by covering aluminum buttons with dyed cloth.

Sewing the Orb

I used a basic book binding technique to sew the individual folded circles to make the orb.

I continue to consider further possibilities for this structure and enjoy the process of making them a lot. But, that’s where it falls apart. I still haven’t figured out how I’m going to fashion the hanging device in a way that is suitably elegant. Ornament cap? Bead hanger? Hidden screw eye? Or maybe they don’t hang at all. Maybe there are just sweet little buttons on both ends. I would like to be able to suspend the spheres from a decorative cord while enclosing the top opening. I have some ideas yet to try. If you have a suggestion, I’d love to hear from you!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Your Itinerant Attack Cat | Art Is Not For Sissies

Leave a Reply

