Done is Wonderful

Standard
One of the circus horse heads, and the more or less successful, Baby Kangaroo.

One of the circus horse heads, and the more or less successful, Baby Kangaroo.

Do you remember a few posts ago when I mentioned that there are times when a creative project might benefit from adrenaline-induced mania, like on Project Runway? Well, I am in one of those zones this week! Tomorrow is costume parade/first dress for Seussical, Jr., the show I am costuming for Platte River Elementary.

Every character now has a completed main garment, so I’m doing things like gluing matching feathers on shoes and making animal hats. I just finished the Baby Kangaroo puppet. It didn’t turn out how I envisioned, but I’m happy with the results anyway. That’s what happens when you get down to the wire. I used to work for a costume designer who would say, “Done is wonderful,” when we’d get close to a deadline. That’s me right now. Done is wonderful.

As you approach your own creative endeavors this week, find something that needs finishing! Deadline or no, your projects deserve to be fully realized, so let go of expectations and just go for it.

Thanks so much for checking in.

Leave a Reply

