Follow Me to See Art

Standard

This adventurous kitty is the new mascot for a local public art walking tour for families and children. His nickname is T-CAT, short for Traverse City Art Trek. He will appear on the soon-to-be available map and brochure from the visitor’s center this summer!

The Traverse City Art Trek is a stroller-friendly walking tour that covers just a few city blocks and passes by shops and historic buildings, then crosses over the scenic Boardman River, and loops back to the waterfront. Participants will encounter works by local artists and learn a little bit about the city as well.

Cat wearing a backpack. Carol Parker Mittal

Follow me to find art around my city! 

If you’re not familiar with Traverse City, we are a popular destination, making the Best of lists for beaches, natural beauty, wine, and livability, just to name a few!

It’s been fun working with this all-volunteer committee to make this a reality. It’s my first time doing illustration work for anyone other than myself, and I’m proud to contribute. If the TCAT has a successful launch, we will proceed with plans to expand the tour outside of the downtown area, and include bike paths and other locales in the city.

 

 

10 responses »

  1. I love Traverse City. Me and my hubby have been going there often for the last 4 years. I enjoy going to Horizon and Brilliant Books and going to Espresso Bay for coffee! Then there is Glen Arbor and the Sleeping Bear dunes and Leelanau coffee and the Cottage Book Shop. You have a great town! And your blog is very unique!

    • Thank you so much! I love it here, too. If you like Espresso Bay, you should also try Morsels, just up Front St to the east. And, if you’re ever at The Commons, Higher Grounds has delicious coffee as well.

Leave a comment