Cats for a Friend

Watercolor Painting

Blitzen and Hemingway

A friend asked me to create a portrait as a gift for his sister-in-law of her cats who had passed away. So, here are Hemingway and Blitzen as I interpreted them. I worked from multiple photos of the two cats and asked questions about their interactions and personality traits.  For me, this is important work because to memorialize someone’s beloved pets is a dubious responsibility. As the artist, I wanted to capture the essence and relationship of the cats, as well as create a mood that was respectful. I had fun making the painting because I like the challenge of combining the idea, intention, technique, and composition into a unified piece.

About Carol

I am an artist and teacher living and working in Traverse City, Michigan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cats for a Friend

  1. Herman says:

    Hi Carol, thank you for following HoB. Much appreciated! I’ll be hanging around here…

  2. These are rendered with wonderful tenderness. I am trying to work up the nerve to do a painting of my cat who passed away a while back. This is inspiring.

    • Carol says:

      I’m sorry about your cat. It’s so hard to lose a friend. I made paintings of my cat who passed a couple of years ago and have a little section on my studio wall where I keep them like a little shrine. I think it’s really good way to remember her.

Leave a Reply

