Kind of Like the Path of an Electron–Only Art

My obsession with circles continues. I like the circle. It’s clean. There is no beginning and no ending. When a circle is drawn geometrically, it exudes order. When a circle is depicted in a more free-form way it has movement, a kind of zooming feel like a race car on a track, or a careening electron around an atom. In this series of sketches I am exploring these ideas not only with line quality, but also with shape, color, transparency and layering. I envision them as studies for more complete works. I am interested in how you as a viewer “read” the individual images. What mood or feeling do you get? Do you prefer order over chaos? You can click on any image above to launch a slideshow. Let me know what you think!

3 responses to “Kind of Like the Path of an Electron–Only Art

  1. I really need to do some technique-learning pieces like this. Not only are they beautiful, but I’ll bet you picked up a trick or two in doing them!

  2. Thanks! They’re were a lot of fun– And you’re right, in working with the variety I expanded my circle vocabulary which led to some other work.

Leave a Reply

